ProBono

good, for the sake of goodwill

Pro bono (Latin: for the good, for the sake of goodwill) means a commitment to do good without a profit-oriented background or such a motivation.

For our law firm, this means that no fee is requested for the corresponding advisory work. 


Organic Footprints

…leaving a natural footprint for the next generation.

Organic Footprints would like to revive the appreciation within the population of Port Elizabeth in South Africa for where our food comes from. With the help of residents of Missionvale Township, the organisation plants vegetable gardens in and around their Township. The vegetables are then sold in the form of monthly vegetable baskets to customers and distributed to schools, kindergartens, as well as to the non-profit kitchens in the Township.

Through the projects, people who participate in them on the one hand are conveyed knowledge on cultivation and the sustainable handling of vegetables and on the other hand, the unemployed are given a task with a daily structure and responsibility.

The Organic Footprint project does not only have the goal of making enough healthy food available to the inhabitants of the Township, but to also to foster their abilities and their knowledge on the interaction with nature and the cultivation of vegetables and thus enable an improvement in quality of life for the present and the future.

Organic Footprint is part of the Elephant Footprint Foundation to which the Cedric Zwyssig Memorial Trust also belongs to. This Trust has the primary intention to support individual project of dedicated and passionate individuals in South Africa. In particular, the 14-month course on Ecosystem Intelligence at the SAN Ecosystems, which helps students to identify problems and solutions in their own respective community, ecosystem of chosen field in environment. 

As a result of a long-time friendship with a founding member, BADER · GNEHM & PARTNER has been involved with the project since the start and supports it in several areas.

 


STEP

Our firm undertook its first pro-bono project in 2003: the legal support of the association Label STEP – fair trade rugs (former STEP foundation), domiciled in Bern (www.label-step.org).

The Label STEP is a small Swiss NGO, which is active nationally and internationally in the area of fair trade and has specialized in the field of hand-crafted rugs. The Label STEP has no legal department of its own and thus in case of need relies on external legal advice. Thus we have been able to support the association respectively the former foundation in the past few years in diverse areas of law (employment-contract law, collaboration-contract law, licensing-contract law, consumer law, and trademark and intellectual-property law).

In providing legal support to the association Label STEP, a trustful and mutually fruitful collaboration ensued. Thus a delegation from our firm could go on project trips with representatives of the association Label STEP to the core countries for rugs, Morocco (2005) and India (2007), which left unforgettable impressions on all participants.

ProBono

Das Gute, um des Guten willen

Unter Pro Bono (lat.: für das Gute, um des Guten willen) versteht sich ein Engagement für eine gute Sache, ohne gewinnorientierten Hintergrund oder eine solche Motivation.

Für unsere Anwaltskanzlei bedeutet dies, dass kein Honorar für die entsprechende beratende Tätigkeit verlangt wird.


Organic Footprints

…leaving a natural footprint for the next generation.

Organic Footprints möchte der Bevölkerung von Port Elisabeth in Südafrika das Verständnis dafür, woher all unsere Lebensmittel herkommen, wieder näherbringen. Die Organisation legt mit Hilfe von Bewohnern des Missionvale Township in und um ihr Township Gemüsegärten an. Das Gemüse wird anschliessend in Form von monatlichen Gemüsekörben an Kunden verkauft und an Schulen, Kindergärten sowie an die gemeinnützigen Küchen des Townships verteilt.

Durch das Projekt wird den Menschen, die sich daran beteiligen, einerseits der Anbau und der nachhaltige Umgang mit Gemüse vermittelt und andererseits erhalten Arbeitslose eine Aufgabe mit Tagesstruktur und Verantwortung.

Das Projekt Organic Footprints hat nicht nur zum Ziel, den Bewohnern des Townships genügend gesundes Essen zur Verfügung zu stellen, sondern auch ihre Fähigkeiten und ihr Wissen im Umgang mit der Natur und dem Anbau von Gemüse zu fördern und so eine Verbesserung der Lebensqualität für das Jetzt und die Zukunft zu ermöglichen.

Organic Footprint ist Teil der Elephant Footprint Foundation. Zu dieser gehört zusätzlich der Cedric Zwyssig Memorial Trust, welcher es sich zum Ziel gesetzt hat individuelle Projekte von engagierten Personen die die Menschen wie auch die Natur gleichermassen berühren finanziell zu unterstützten. Insbesondere wird der Besuch des 14-monatigen Kurses zum Thema Ecosystem Intelligence an der SAN Ecosystems unterstützt, der es den Studenten ermöglicht, Probleme und Lösungen in ihrer jeweiligen Community, einem Ökosystem oder einem ausgewählten bestimmten Umweltbereich zu identifizieren und lösen.

BADER GNEHM & PARTNER ist durch eine langjährige Freundschaft mit einem Gründungsmitglied von Anfang an in das Projekt involviert gewesen und unterstützt es in verschiedenen Bereichen. 


STEP

Bereits seit dem Jahre 2003 unterstützt unsere Kanzlei den Verein Label STEP – fair trade Teppiche (ursprünglich: Stiftung STEP) mit Sitz in Bern (www.label-step.org) in allen rechtlichen Belangen. 

Label STEP ist ein schweizerisches NGO, welches national und international im Bereich des fairen Teppich-Handels tätig ist. Label STEP vergibt ein Firmen-Label zur Auszeichnung von Teppichhändlern, welche ihr ganzes Sortiment aus fair hergestellten und gehandelten handgefertigten Teppichen vergibt. Label STEP hat keinen eigenen Rechtsdienst und ist deswegen im Bedarfsfall auf externe juristische Beratung angewiesen. So konnten wir den Verein bzw. die vormalige Stiftung in den letzten Jahren in mannigfachen Rechtsgebieten unterstützen (Arbeitsvertragsrecht, Fusionsrecht, Zusammenarbeitsvertragsrecht, Lizenzvertragsrecht, Konsumentenrecht, Marken- und Immaterialgüterrecht, Steuerrecht).

Durch die rechtliche Begleitung des Vereins Label STEP hat sich über die Jahre eine sehr vertrauensvolle und gegenseitig befruchtende Zusammenarbeit ergeben. So konnte jeweils eine Delegation unserer Kanzlei mit Vertretern des Vereins gemeinsame Projektreisen in die Teppich-Schwerpunktländer Marokko (2005) und Indien (2007) unternehmen, was bei allen Beteiligten unvergessliche Eindrücke hinterlassen hat.